Granger Smith Releases New Album, 'Country Things, Vol. 1'

Granger Smith Releases New Album, 'Country Things, Vol. 1'

Granger Smith Releases New Album, 'Country Things, Vol. 1'

Granger Smith released his new album, Country Things Vol. 1 on Friday (September 25). The eight-track project is the country singer's 10th studio album, and the first half of a two-part album.

Country Things Vol. 1 gives fans a look into the Smith family's life after the tragic passing of River Smith, who drowned in their backyard pool in June of 2019. Music has been a big part of the grieving and healing process for Granger, which he says is reflected on this project.

"My life is just … different now. Or maybe a better way to put it is, I see life differently now," he previously shared. "This collection focuses on the things that money and politics and status can’t buy. The things that you can center on and I want to live my life for. The things you want to raise your kids with and find joy in. The country things."

One new song on the project called "I Kill Spiders" highlights Granger's life as a father, which is something he's never done before.

"It's the first time that I've gone to that subject matter," Granger told PopCulture in a recent interview. "I just never wanted to be an artist that's like a dad kind of artist that's singing about kids. It's just, I didn't ever really feel like my style and I just didn't want to be known as the dad singer, but for the first time and making this album and writing some of these songs, it felt appropriate to bring it into the subject matter."

In addition to "I Kill Spiders," Granger's new album also includes previously released songs, "Hate You Like I Love You" and "Country Things." Additionally, his recent single, which was influenced by the death of his son called "That's Why I Love Dirt Roads" is also a part of the new album. See a full track listing below.

Country Things Vol. 1 follows up Granger's 2017 release, When the Good Guys Win.

Granger Smith's Country Things, Vol. 1 Tracklist:

  1. "Country Things"
  2. "Hate You Like I Love You"
  3. "I Kill Spiders"
  4. "That's Why I Love Dirt Roads"
  5. "Mexico"
  6. "Chevys, Hemis, Yotas & Fords"
  7. "Heroes"
  8. "Country & Ya Know It (feat. Earl Dibbles Jr.)

Photo: Getty Images